Trash-Pro : Macintosh Revival

So, I would help my dad or grandfathers with the garbage every weekend. This would entail going to the town dump or transfer station. There is also a section called the Reuse center created in effort to repurpose usable items such as furniture, bikes, yard sale leftovers and until a few years ago- computers. Everyone’s terrified of their information getting stolen when all I ever did was immediately wipe the drive to put a fresh install of whatever OS I felt like. That was my playground teaching myself how to and how not to work with computers. I found challenge in getting a piece of garbage to function properly and then some; maybe upgrade the ram and get it to run a game or something. I still have some of the gems from the garbage pile, but most are long gone. Salvaging them is also long gone, few places allow computers in anymore. The dump has a locked dumpster which you drop (ouch) your tower into from the top. Last year I scored a gaming pc from a local thrift store, one of the last places to carry used computers. So, it’s February and I’m at the dump with my grandfather and I notice they’ve just emptied the computer dumpster and placed everything neatly on a pallet. The mission impossible theme played in my head, and as a town employee went for a cigarette break I casually walked by and hefted a 50 pound aluminum rectangle over to the truck and escaped without capture! I thought it was a PowerPC G5, which I wouldve been happy with. However this is a Mac Pro 1,1 which means first model first generation 2006. Yes, it’s 2018 and I’m happily using a $3000 computer from 2006 for almost free. I say almost free because I had to scare up a few ebay items to get the genie out of the bottle. First, I plugged her in and the fans kicked on, but the CPU failure light and Ram failure lights came on. And then I realized how absolutely packed the poor thing was with dust! I literally vacuumed and brushed all the dust out over an hour or so. I ordered a matched pair of 3.0 GHZ dual core CPU’s for $10 and a set of matched 32GB FB DIMM ram sticks. The FB ram is specifically used for either servers, or mac pros, so its really cheap and plentiful to buy used server ram for a mac pro. so another $15. Then I got a tease when it would boot past the apple logo, but give me scrambled lines on the screen. Graphics card- i found a PC version that had been flashed with mac firmware – another $30. Then we moved and I stored it for a month or two. Just yesterday I received a new used hard drive for it, ($30) and successfully installed Mac OSX Snow Leopard on it. Snow Leopard was released in 2009 and discontinued in 2011 and is now 7 versions old! but I like it, and it retains support for PowerPC specific applications with Rosetta. With a few helpful apps its a brilliant machine which I plan to make a graphic design powerhouse using the Adobe Suite. For now I’ll just marvel at the fact that this machine cost $3000 new and I paid a grand total of $85 for it. And it rocks.

 

One thought on “Trash-Pro : Macintosh Revival

Leave a comment